Wk 11 – Activity – Sculpture

image

image

image

image

image

image

    I went to Newport Beach by my lonesome on Saturday (it’s the beach closest to me) to complete this week’s activity. I found parking easily, so I knew it was going to be a good day. I found a spot not too far from the water and not in the dry sand to set up my equipment. I never attempted plaster before so I was worried I would not succeed with the amount of plaster I had.
    I dug a nice hole and attempted various hand gestures for the mold, including a thumbs up gesture. It was difficult to keep a mold with a finger or two protruding so I went with a closed fist. Once I had the hole, I mixed the plaster and poured it into the hole carefully. Then it was time to play the waiting game. I brought a book with me and started to read. A young kid came by while I was reading and asked to borrow my shovel so he could dig a hole to bury himself in. I obliged.
     After thirty minutes I carefully dug out the mold without destryoing it. It was pretty caked in sand but it looked pretty good. I packed up my gear and went home. Once there I grabbed a brush and tried to get off most of the caked sand. The end result was actually better than I had anticipated!

Leave a Reply

